What I’m Into – June 2016

Linking up with Leigh Kramer to share what I’m into for the month of June.

My Bullet Journal: tried it last November in a cast-off journal from the dollar store. Unsurprisingly, it didn’t take, because I wasn’t in love with the whole thing, and it felt repetitive to WRITE down what I already had in my Google calendar and such. But, I started again on June 1st with a brand new journal (The Leuchtturm 1917 dotted. Mine is yellow) bought just for the purpose and pretty pens that I love, and the realization that this is not just about keeping track of daily appointments and to-dos for me, but about journaling as well. I write down little snippets from the day. I practice my cursive with pretty quotes. I meal plan in the back and write out weekly calendars in the pages. I keep a Power Hour list and am starting a Prayer list. It’s developing organically into something beautiful. And now that I’ve been at it for a full month, I can see why there are so many Bullet Journal (BuJo) addicts in the world, and how it’s something that turns into something different for everyone!

Keeping cool: Thankfully the heat wave the hit us hard at the beginning of June seems to have slacked off a bit towards the end. We are getting monsoons (late afternoon summer storms) most evenings of the week now, and that drops the nighttime temperature enough to make the days bearable. But it’s definitely more humid! I bought a $35 (it was on sale) outdoor inflatable pool from Target that is about 7ft in diameter. It’s big enough for the boys to splash around in, and even has a seat and backrest on one side for this pregnant mama to enjoy as well. But small enough that it doesn’t take up our whole yard and doesn’t ruin our water bill to empty it and fill it again when it gets icky.

Neighboring: I read The Art of Neighboring about a year after we moved into our new home in February of 2014. I loved it and wanted to put it into practice right away, so I started plans with hubby and the neighbors we knew to put together a block party last summer. Now, we are working toward our second annual block party and the neighborhood has grown a lot. But it’s also REALLY turned into something beautiful. It’s a place where people ask for help and get it, a place where friendships are celebrated and everyone waves to each other. A place where we stick together and do life together. And I couldn’t be happier to be INTO our neighborhood!

Blue Apron: I decided that, in order to stick better to our food budget without driving myself UP the wall all the way with meal planning, I’d sign up to receive a Blue Apron box every other week for a while and see how it goes. Happy to report that it’s been absolutely fantastic. Blue Apron sends all the ingredients and a detailed recipe for two meals for the week (for 2 or 4 people). They are always very tasty and, I’ve heard from others, a great way to get your feet wet if you’re just starting to cook at home. I’m a pretty decent hand in the kitchen, so… My favorite thing? Having two meals planned for me with all the goodies delivered to my door! It even saved me a trip to the grocery store this week when my box came a day earlier than planned. Glory glory hallelujah!

Literary Statistics: I use Goodreads to track my reading throughout the year. I’m a bit religious about it, actually. I LOVE marking a book as “currently reading” and I love even more when I can mark it “read.” Partly due to audiobooks (and my bluetooth headphones making it so much easier to listen), partly due to NetGalley and the ability to get new books to read for free, and partly because I’ve finally embraced the “read more than one book at a time” technique, I’ve been TEARING through books this year. On Goodreads, you can set a reading goal for the year, and I went with 50 books (last year I read 52). As of midway through the year, I’ve read 45 books! That already amounts to 15,268 pages for the year. That’s a LOT. If I can keep up the pace through the end of the year, it’ll blow away any previous reading I’ve done in a big way. And I’m better for it.

2 thoughts on “What I’m Into – June 2016

  1. You are having a great reading year! I love the feeling of checking a book as ‘read’ on Goodreads too. 🙂

    We also picked up one of those inflatable pools for this summer. I’m trying to fill it up during some early mornings, so they can play in the morning and go back for round two after naptime!

    Like

Leave a Reply

