Linking up to Modern Mrs. Darcy for her monthly QuickLit post, where we share “short and sweet reviews of what we’ve been reading lately”. I’ll share everything I’ve read over the previous month here right around the middle of each month, in the order I finished reading them.


15765620

Classical Christian Education Made Approachable

by Classical Conversations

This book serves as an introductory “blueprint” of sorts to what Classical Education in general and CC in particular look like, and how they align with the way we learn best. It is short, and easy to get through quickly.

 


20695981

Texts from Jane Eyre: And Other Conversations with Your Favorite Literary Characters

by Mallory Ortberg

This is a fun little glimpse (via text message) into the minds of mostly classic literary characters throughout history. I thought it was so fun how she worked the two together, giving us a little taste of what it may have been like to see the communication between some of my favorites!


17737039

Happier at Home

by Gretchen Rubin

I’m a definite Gretchen Rubin junkie, and this book is no exception. Although I’m pretty sure I’ve read it before, it wasn’t saved as Read in my goodreads, and a lot of it felt new and fresh to me. I’m glad I took the time to (possibly re-)read it! Even if the happiness projects that Gretchen undertakes don’t apply to you, the general principles are sure to strike you at one point or another.


 

25852870

Eligible

by Curtis Sittenfeld

This “modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice” did not disappoint. It was my first book from Book of the Month Club, and I really enjoyed it. Although a lot of Austen purists may have to grab the smelling salts, I thought that Sittenfeld did a great job updating the characters while staying true to their natures.

 


13047041

Confessions of a Scary Mommy: An Honest and Irreverent Look at Motherhood

by Jill Smokler

It’s hard not to associate this book with the experience for me: I listened to it on audiobook with 3 other mommy friends during a road trip. The camaraderie we shared while listening made it unforgettable to me. Be sure to check out Jill’s interview on the blog if you haven’t already!


 

28418764

Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet 

by Charlie Holmberg

I think it’s pretty obvious from my interview with her that I’m a big Charlie Holmberg fan already. I couldn’t resist grabbing an advance copy of this one and devouring it before it releases at the end of the month. Great story that’s very engaging about a young woman, Maire, who has the ability to bake her feelings into her food. We’re not sure (and neither is she) how it happened or where it comes from, but it’s fun to find out with her!


23848559

Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things

by Jenny Lawson

I have followed Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, for quite some time, and her book is such a wonderful reflection of her. Depression is a tough topic, but she makes it approachable and so easy for so many to say “me, too”. I listened to AND read this book in alternation (Yay, whispersync!), and I loved both hearing her voice and reading her words.


5893865

Wild Things: The Art of Nurturing Boys

by Stephen James and David Thomas

This book absolutely changed the way I relate to my boys, how I will raise them up, and how I understand them. I have been recommending it to every mom of boys that I know. James and Thomas are clinical psychologists, so they draw on their experience with their own sons as well as counseling experience with hundreds of boys and young men through the years. First book I’ve read with highlighter in hand in many years, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.


18774964

A Man Called Ove

by Fredrik Backman

Although I put this one off for a long time (it just didn’t sound that interesting to me), one more recommendation finally pushed me over the edge to borrow it on audiobook, and I’m so glad I did (not least of which because HEARING the names means they are in my head correctly: Ove is pronounced Oovah). This is a poingnant story of a rather crotchety old man, who has to learn to deal with his neighbors, old and new. Could not put it down.


3367956

Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

by Jamie Ford

A decades-long story about the relationship between two children (one Chinese, one Japanese) growing up in Seattle during WWII and the forced Japanese internment. The cultural implications in this one are deep and far-reaching. The story-telling is rich.

 


27245997

The Last One

by Alexandra Oliva

This page-turner comes out July 12th. You won’t be disappointed, as long as you keep reading after it feels like it slows down, because the ending is fantastic. Contestants on a reality TV show, a flu pandemic, and the fallout. Great late-night reading here.

 


11527309

May B.

by Caroline Starr Rose

A middle grade, free-verse poetry novel by a local author. I heard Caroline Starr Rose on multiple podcasts before I decided  to take the plunge and listen to The Crossover last month. I enjoyed that enough to pick up her novels from the library as well. This one is about Mavis Betterly, who is leant away by her family to help around another family’s “soddy” on the prarie. Very Little House-esque.


22105178

Blue Birds

by Caroline Starr Rose

Don’t read this on Kindle! The text changes with the voice of two young girls, and if you’re not seeing that change, the novel will not make sense to you. Takes place in 1587 during the settlement of the Roanoke colony and, as you can tell from the cover, explores the friendship of two young girls from very different backgrounds. So lovely. I sped through it, but it would be great to savor as well.


 

2 thoughts on “QuickLit – June 2016

    1. I’ve already gotten ahold of the author of Hotel…. Sweet in order to interview him. He’s got a new book coming out next summer, so it’ll be released around that time. 🙂
      Also, Ove is so brilliant and lovely. I actually saw that One In a Million Boy was on sale on Kindle today (from MMD’s summer reading guide), and I was still on the fence about it, until she said that fans of Ove would enjoy it, and then I decided I was all in. Thanks for commenting, Elena!

      Like

Leave a Reply

