Linking up to Modern Mrs. Darcy for her monthly QuickLit post, where we share “short and sweet reviews of what we’ve been reading lately”. I’ll share everything I’ve read over the previous month here right around the middle of each month, in the order I read them.


51rxJ2yKFsL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency

by Alexander McCall Smith

I read this as part of the MMD 2016 reading challenge, as it satisfied my “book you’ve been meaning to read” category. I’ve always heard such great things about this book, and it’s easy to see why. The setting (Africa) is gripping, the little mysteries are fun, and the characters are on point. Fun read, but I don’t feel the need to continue the series.


Winter-finalWinter

by Marissa Meyer

This is the fourth installment of the Lunar Chronicles series. I breezed through the other 3 on Kindle from the library, but when I found out the last one was a hefty 800+ pages, I decided to use an Audible credit for it this month (23 hours!! Worth every penny!). Great ending to a great series. I’ve been recommending it to so many friends.


51A+jSADNOL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_A Tree Grows in Brooklyn

by Betty Smith

This is a sweeping coming of age novel about Francie, a young girl in Brooklyn. It’s been raved about, again by MMD, as a great book that “I would never read just based on the description”. So, I picked it up despite the fact that it didn’t feel like me, and then enjoyed it immensely.

 


51qKM1sZiTL._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_The Crossover

by Kwame Alexander

After hearing about this one from multiple sources, it came up as an Audible daily deal, so I bought it at a super low cost and listened to it right away. This is a middle-grade, free verse poetry novel about, you guessed it, basketball. But also about the main character’s struggle to define himself separately from his brother. I can see my boys really enjoyed this one as they grow.


41A3pAwY+ZL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_The Secret Life of Book Club

by Heather Woodhaven

This one was a super cheap Amazon daily deal and sounded interesting so I picked it up. Although I didn’t love it the story (a few editing issues always turn me away), I DID love the premise of these four friends shaking up their lives through a book club challenge. A fun, quick read.

 


followed by frostFollowed by Frost

by Charlie Holmberg

When I was researching Charlie for her author interview, I realized she had a novel I hadn’t read yet. Just like all of her books, I devoured it in about a day and enjoyed every minute. Completely different from her Paper Magician series, but just as fantastical and fun.

 


miss matchMiss Match

by Erynn Mangum

Look for Erynn’s interview on this blog, coming soon. Erynn is a good friend of mine who is also a prolific author, so I knew I HAD to read one of her books, especially after starting a blog with author interviews. This one is the first of a series about Lauren Holbrook, loosely based on Jane Austen’s Emma (the matchmaker!). Lauren is a strong Christian that wants great romantic matches for all her friends. A light read with a load of Princess Bride quotes, which always make me happy!

2 thoughts on “Quick Lit: What I’ve Been Reading Lately

  1. I LOVED A Tree Grows In Brooklyn! it is one of my new favorite books! And I want to read The Crossover soon. I keep hearing about it and was really impressed with the only other free verse book I read recently, Brown Girl Dreaming, so I am eager to try another, especially since Anne Bogel recommended it on her podcast.

    Found you through Quick Lit linkup. Here are my April reads: http://elle-alice.blogspot.ca/2016/05/april-book-reviews.html

    Like

Leave a Reply

